What makes Zangi groups awesome?


Zangi groups are powerful communication tools for instant messaging. Here are a few key features that make them stand out:

UNIFIED HISTORY- Edit your messages after posting, delete them so that they disappear for you or for everyone.

CROSS-PLATFORM AVAILABILITY- Access your messages anytime, from any number of your mobile devices.

INSTANT SEARCH- Find the message you're looking for, even among millions and filter with contact and date.

REPLIES- Easily reply or forward certain conversations and keep communication efficient, no matter the group size.

SMART NOTIFICATIONS- Mute the group convo or pin the conversation to get notifications only when people reply to your messages.

FILE SHARING- Send and receive files of any type, up to 300 MB in size each, access them instantly on your other devices.

Related resources

All about Groups and Messaging

Creating groups


To create a group tap on the pencil icon → choose multiple member(s) you want to chat with. Choose members by entering their name/number/email.

You can also tap on a contact’s profile info → select Create Group → create a group including them.

Max group size


The maximum members a group can reach is 50.

Adding/removing members from groups


How to add members

To add members to an existing group, tap on the group chat → tap on the group name to open profile→ tap on Add Members. You can add members even when you are not the initial creator of the group.

How to remove members

To remove a member(s), tap on the group chat → tap on the group name→ long press the name of the group member you want to remove (Android) → or tap edit on the top right corner → slide left to delete (iOS).

The removed member and all other group members will be notified that you have removed this member and the removed member will no longer receive notifications from your group. You can remove members even when you are not the initial creator of the group.

Group/conference calls


Conference calls are only available for iOS devices as of now. Conference calls between Android devices is in beta testing now and will be available soon. Please note: conference calls are audio calls, not video.

Making Conference calls

To make a conference call first create a group chat: tap on the pencil icon → choose multiple member(s) you want to chat with → open the chat → tap on the call icon → make a conference call. If not all members are online, there has to be at least one member who accepts the call, for the conference call to take place. Members can also join/leave in the middle of the call by tapping on Join or End Call. A maximum of 4 people can be in a conference call.

Leaving/deleting groups


To leave a group simply open the group chat → tap on the group name → open the group profile info → scroll down → tap on Leave Group. After leaving a group you will no longer receive notifications from the group.

Group settings/admins


To view a group profile info, you’ll just need to open the chat → tap on the group name → you’ll get to the group profile page → there you’ll see a Group Settings tab → tap on Group Settings button → configure the admin settings there: Admins, who Edits Group Name, who Edits Group Name, Who can add Members.

Please note: by default all members are Admins when first creating a group, up until one of the group members changes these settings. When leaving a group of which you’re an admin, you’ll be asked to select another team member as an admin.

Shared media


To view everything in one place, tap on any contact or group’s profile info → go to Shared Media. There you will see all sent media, documents and links from the chat between the contact or group → tap on a media to share it, save it or delete it.

I don’t see a certain media

If you don’t see a certain media, then it might be deleted or it might have expired. To keep media forever/for 1 month / for 1 week / for 3 days configure the settings from app SettingsData StorageKeep Media

Seen status with groups


One check — message delivered to Zangi and group members have been notified if he allows notifications.

Two checks — at least one group member has read the message (one or more group members have opened Zangi and opened the conversation with the message).

How groups work with blocked contacts?


A blocked contact cannot send you any messages personally, but if you have an existing group chat with a blocked contact, the group will remain unaffected. The blocked contact can still send you messages in groups that have you and the specific contact.

After one of you blocks the other, and if a third person adds both of you to a group, then the group will work normally. But if one of you (the blocked person or the person blocking the other) tries creating a group with the other, then there might be problems.